After talking to my friend/neighbor/soon to be world famous YA author, Kiera Cass, I decided to take the plunge a week ahead of schedule and send out my first batch of five queries. One of the agents already sent me my very first rejection and though it stings a little, it also feels surprisingly awesome. So then, I guess it hurts so good? Remember that old song? Check out the video above if you don’t and I’m sure it’ll jog your memory (or at the very least it’ll give you a good laugh at the stellar 80’s outfits).

But anyway, I think it felt good because I’m putting myself out there now. Sure, that means I should prepare for tons of rejections. But maybe, just maybe, one of these agents will like what they see & ask to read more. That’s the dream anyway. And I think that, weirdly enough, that’s the scariest part of all of this… that someone might be almost as excited about my manuscript as I am! How cool would that be? Answer: extremely cool. ๐Ÿ™‚

And before you say it, spare me. I know the odds are stacked against me. But guess what? I’m feeling lucky. If I didn’t, why would I bother? Why would anyone?

So, here goes nothing. Wish me luck!

