So yesterday I had dinner with Ashley, one of my girlfriends I met while working at Steger Creek. We hadn’t seen each other in about a month, so we had fun catching up and eating the deliciousness that is Lefty’s! 🙂 But after I dropped her off and headed home myself, I had what I thought was a brilliant idea when I got home: let’s have some wine! My hubby had bought a couple new ones to choose from, and so we decided to try a red. (Fun fact: Though I enjoy wine, I typically refer to all kinds as either red or white.) Anyway, Will had one glass. I, on the other hand, had closer to 2 1/2. We went to bed shortly after and I passed out…until I woke around 6 am feeling super icky.

After finally falling back asleep a few hours later for a bit, Will made us French toast. That was pretty much the high point of my day. (Unless you count the cameo appearances from my neighbors, Kiera and her little boy, Guyden, who was decked out in the cutest overalls! BTW, Kiera, sorry again you had to see me in my pj’s. At 3 pm. :/)

Anyway, where was I? Oh, yes. My pounding headache that still refuses to go away. This literally always happens to me after I drink (typically red) wine; I wake up the next morning hoping to wait out the pain without any lights on. I spent most of the day today on the couch with a washcloth over my eyes. It’s torture! But I’m not trying to whine and complain to you. (Okay, maybe I am a little…) But even though this always happens, I still drink wine anyway. And I guarantee after enough days have passed, I will successfully block out this bitch of a headache today, and will gladly have another glass. But JUST ONE next time.

But that’s not my point. (And for the record, I probably only have wine maybe 3 times a month. I promise I’m not an alcoholic. :P) My point is drinking wine is like writing for me. It can be deliciously amazing at first, but will probably give me a headache later…a headache that will almost convince me to stop doing it. But once the pain (or writer’s block frustration) lifts away, I’m right back at it. I can’t help it. Sure there are days my characters give me the finger and won’t cooperate, and that can be a pain. But other times they won’t shut up, even when I’m trying to sleep!

Like today for instance. Mid nap, a scene I’d written yesterday flashed in my mind and the characters begged me to change it. I knew last night something just didn’t quite fit, and they told me why.

To sum, my best writing friend, Jess, told me recently that for her, writing is her passion – she just couldn’t imagine not doing it. And that’s how it is for me. (The writing, not the wine-drinking.) And at the end of the day, I know my hardwork & headaches are worth it. If they weren’t, I would’ve given up a long time ago…and probably would’ve had a couple glasses of wine. (It’s a vicious cycle, isn’t it?)

