We’ve all heard the golden rule of selecting a book: don’t judge it by its cover. Realistically speaking, though, is that a rule that’s even possible to follow? Think about it. Whether you select your books at a bookstore, the library, or even in an e-store, the first thing you see is their covers! Sure you can pick them up and turn them around to read their back flap, or open them and even read the first page to garner your interest, but if that cover didn’t grab you, would that book even be in your hands at all? It’s just like picking a potential boyfriend/girlfriend across the room — sure, you’ll stick around with this person because he/she has the brains and sense of humor to go along with his/her hottness, but initially, we go for the attractive ones first. It’s the same for books! Or at least it is for me.

Case in point: Recently I was in Barnes & Noble with a friend and we were perusing the teen section and out of nowhere, one cover really stuck out from the rest.

Everything about this cover drew me in. I think I even stopping talking mid-sentence just to focus on it. The trees, the snow, her boots, even her green scarf — I had to read it. I had to find out who this girl is, where she’s going, etc. And this need was solely based on the cover; I made up my mind to get it before I even read the back flap. But once I did read it, I realized it was the third book of a series and alas, couldn’t find the first one that day. But then, a couple weeks later, I was in a different B&N with my husband and saw this cover – along with the other books of the Touch series by Laurie Faria Stolarz. The other two covers weren’t quite as intriquing as this one, but were still eye-catching none-the-less. So I picked up the first book, Deadly Little Secret, and I’ll probably start reading it today.

But if this cover hadn’t stood out so much, I’m not sure I would’ve ever picked it up. I may not have even noticed it at all that day. So, what’s the lesson to be learned here? At least as far as I’m concerned, if your book’s cover isn’t awesome & intriguing, more than likely I’m not going to buy it. And I’d bet money most other readers feel the same. But if there are any of you out there that have been able to get past the superficialness of cover-hunting, let me know your secrets! I’m willing to bet it’s a skill you’re not born with. But anyway, have a great weekend, all!

OH WAIT! One more thing before I go…

Stay tuned for AWESOME give-aways for those of you loyal readers and Twitter followers! 🙂 Details to come soon!!

