Yesterday while cleaning the house, my husband put the TV on an FX viewing of the hilariously vulgar “Pineapple Express.”  I won’t go into detail about the movie itself – if you’re the one person alive who hasn’t heard of it, check it out if you like Seth Rogen and James Franco – but a huge part of why it’s so funny is its dialogue which is, at often times, very vulgar. The “F” bomb is dropped a number of times, as well as other choice words, but it’s all in the name of comedy. So after hearing some of the poorly dubbed curse words changed from asshole to casserole – yes, at one point the line was, “you’re nothing but a casserole!” as well as mucka lucka (really, FX? That’s the best you can come up with?) I started thinking about censorship not only in movies shown on cable, but more so in writing.

One of the biggest draws for me with the YA genre is that you don’t have to censor yourself if you don’t want to. Of course a lot of writers still do – and hey, I’ve got nothing but respect for those that choose that path – but that’s just not me. If I feel the “F” bomb is fitting in dialogue for my protagonist when she’s angry, she’s going to say it. If someone’s being an asshole, she’s not going to call that person a casserole (or some other lame alternative). I appreciate characters that say exactly what they’re thinking and feeling. Why should they hold back?

