In honor of NaNoWriMo, I’m challenging myself to write like a mad woman throughout the month of November. That being said, I’m not sure I’ll be able to finish a full first draft of the novel I’m working on, mainly b/c I’ve been trained through Hollins that I need to have my work critiqued frequently (thank you, Jess & Rach!) so I know which way my story is going, that it’s good, and, most importantly, that it makes sense! After having my writing workshopped repeatedly during my Master’s program (which can be a good and bad thing, to be honest), I feel like for the most part I can anticipate some of the questions my typical teen readers would have while reading that aren’t necessarily important, but could distract from the plot itself. But of course I won’t catch them all, and that’s what writing friends are for. 😉

But anyway, after talking to Kiera the other day about getting yourself to write (I’d been going through a drought lately due to a few different life circumstances beyond my control), I realized I needed to develop a strict writing routine, which is as follows:

  1. having a specific place that’s a good environment to work in (which, surprisingly, is my husband’s desk. He’s currently using mine for his work. Yeah, we’re weird.)
  2. figuring out what part of the day I’m most creative (and, as a very much non-morning person, I determined that to be the afternoon/evening).
  3. putting together a music playlist that will keep me focused (which is currently Florence + the Machine’s new album, “Ceremonials”).
  4. having a group of people who will make sure I get my work done (Thanks Will & Mom!).
  5. setting a strict weekly deadline to have 25-30 pages done (Sunday!).
  6. drinking caffeine (preferably a Starbucks pumpkin spice latte, but Coke also does the trick).
  7. & last but by no means least, having chocolate on hand (yay for tons of left-over Halloween candy).
What about you guys? Do any of you have a strict regimen for when you write? What do you do differently?
