So, I just read The Perks of Being a Wallflower (and I gave it a sushi-rated book review, too – check it out here if you haven’t already) this week. While reading it, I was in awe of pretty much every single letter, though one in particular really made my jaw drop: the one dated October 28, 1991. For those that have read it, it’s the one where Charlie attends his first party, is offered a brownie and…well, you know what happens next. While that in and of itself was entertaining to read, the other two parts of this particular letter that really punched me in the face with their awesomeness were 1) on p. 37 when Patrick proclaims Charlie is a wallflower: “You see things. You keep quiet about them. And you understand.” and then, two pages later, 2) BOOM: “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.”

The first quote in only eleven words perfectly sums up who Charlie is as a character, which is impressive alone. But the second quote I mentioned…all I can say is wow. It’s as close to perfect as you can get. And it got me trying to remember some other one-liners from previous YA novels I’ve read that blew me away, such as the last line of the first Pretty Little Liars novels (SPOILER ALERT): “I’m still here, bitches. And I know everything. -A”

If I tried, I’m sure I could remember more lines (or at least the gist of them) to some other favorite books. But at least right now, these are the two that stick out. And after reading that line in Wallflowers, I probably re-read the page a dozen times, wondering over and over if Chbosky purposefully tried to come up with something that powerful to leave his readers with to end part 1 of the book, or if it was just like all the other sentences he put together before and after it, meaning it didn’t carry any special weight or significance at the time. I like to think it’s the latter. Either way, it makes me want to accomplish this some day as a writer – to write a novel with a line that means a great deal to its readers, so much so that it stays with them long after they finish reading it.

But for now, I’m just going to keep writing and plugging away at this dream. And maybe, just maybe, it’ll happen one day. So cheers to all the other aspiring authors out there – may your glass be half-full just like mine is right now.

*Cover art from wikimedia.org

