I’m sure you’ve heard the saying, “Dress for the job you want, not the job you have.” Well, today, I would argue I’ve done just that. What am I wearing, you ask? Take a look:

 

Yes, that’s right: pj’s! My husband usually teases me when I don’t change out of them after I get up in the morning. Before I go on, I want to assure you that this doesn’t happen very often at all – only on rare days when I’m a) off work and b) don’t have anywhere pressing to be.

But anyway, back to what I was saying… today, in my pajamas, I am dressed for the job I want more than anything: that of a successful writer. Sure, you could argue that even though I haven’t been published yet, that doesn’t mean I’m not already a writer. And I’d agree with that whole-heartedly. But let me explain: in terms of working, I want to be solely a writer and nothing more. Before you say it, I know that’s not normally the case. And please don’t misunderstand me – I’m not saying I want to be a super rich and famous writer, though if given the opportunity, you better believe I’d accept it! 😉

Kidding (kind of) aside, I realize that successful writers sometimes have to put on actual clothes, too. For me though, all I want is to be a writer who is comfortable and satisfied enough to just write – every day without interruption – preferably in my pj’s.

Unfortunately, I’m not there yet. So for now, I’m just going to enjoy the rare days, like today, when I get to dress for the job I want. And I’d encourage anyone reading this to do the same!

