A few days ago, a coworker lent me the latest copy of “Cosmo” to peruse while it was slow. I can’t even remember the last time I read this magazine. Probably not since freshman year of college.

After scanning the cover interview with Miley Cyrus, I flipped to another article that caught my eye in the table of contents: one concerning threesomes. I believe the title was something to the extent of, “So you’re considering a threesome…” and the picture was of three bare feet curled together at the end of a bed. At this point, I was already laughing. So when I read the article further – it offered five “real” experiences to help one decide whether to give a threesome a whirl – I started laughing even more. I only had time to read one of the experiences. In this particular confession, one girl and her roommate fool around for her roommate’s boyfriend to watch, the roommate leaves the room because she’s uncomfortable, so then the girl has sex with her roommate’s boyfriend.

I laughed even harder because the whole thing reminded me of the “Friends” episode where it shows what would’ve happened if Ross stayed married to Carol, Rachel had married Barry, etc. During the ep, Ross brags to Joey about having a threesome with Carol and another woman. At first, he’s all excited to share the story, but towards the end he reveals he was sort of the odd man out, creepily watching on as Carol got it on with Susan. He was so left out, he had enough time to go make himself a sandwich. Once he describes what he put on the sandwich, Joey commends him and says that sounds really good, and Ross says something like, “You know, it really was!”

To me, neither of these stories sounds like an actual “threesome.” And who knows, the roommate from the Cosmo confession probably had some time to kill while her boyfriend banged her roommate and may have made her own sandwich (or some other sort of yummy snack). Which leads me to the title of this randomly wacky blog entry: my writing threesome role as sandwich maker.

Lately I’ve lost a bit of my writing mojo. And for once, it’s not because I have nothing to write about. It’s because I have two different stories competing for primary attention in my head.  While I’ve only written one chapter (that I plan on scrapping and rewriting) for one of these stories, I’ve written a few more for the other. However, both have made pretty convincing arguments why they should have the spotlight right now. So in a way, I’m involved in my own sort of threesome – a writing threesome, if you will. But I know I can’t give them both equal attention (as I’m sure happens in most threesomes!) so I need to just pick one and shelf the other. But since I can’t decide which right now, I’m going to do the most reasonable thing to pass the time: make myself a metaphorical sandwich.

Actually…I think I’ll go make a real one. 😉

