A few days ago, on Facebook I stumbled upon a quote posted to a fellow writer’s timeline: “How a novel finishes, is there’s a moment when you know it has problems, and you don’t know how to fix them. That’s when you’re done.” – Lorrie Moore

Recently, my friend & fellow writer, Rachel, did me a humongous favor and read my entire manuscript. I asked her specifically to read the ending, as I’m having trouble figuring out how it should end exactly; I know how it currently ends isn’t working. But, being the fabulous friend she is, she read the entire thing instead. Once she finished, she emailed me some global feedback from start to finish, but mainly for the last half (which I knew needed the most attention anyway). As soon as I read her email, I grabbed a notebook and jotted down what all she recommended, while feelings of excitement swam through me. Why, you ask? Why would I be excited to give this manuscript – which has already been completely overhauled twice now (the latter time, I basically scrapped most of the previous draft. Ouch, I know, but it had to be done) – yet another go? That’s a question my past self would’ve definitely scratched her head over – the past self that thought she had finished this bad boy in the summer of 2012 and was convinced there was absolutely NO MORE EDITING needed. But, my present self knows better.

You see, it’s taken me a long time to realize this, but at least as far as my writing is concerned, there’s ALWAYS room for improvement. Sure, it can be frustrating when I want to move on to something new. But if I don’t edit and revise until I’m blue in the face my previous manuscript, all the past time and effort I’ve put into it would’ve been for nothing. And I love my characters too damn much to leave them hanging.

So, back to the quote. I know I’m not there yet, because as Rachel helped me realize, there are problems with my story that need fixing – and, thanks to her, I have a much better idea on how to fix them. That doesn’t mean I’ll fix every single problem, of course. But I’m confident I can now eliminate those that have solutions.

And that, my friends, is why I’m excited to tackle yet another editing session – because every problem I fix makes my story that much stronger.

