Last week, I talked to my grandmother on the phone. She recently had her second shoulder replacement surgery and I called to see how she was doing. After we talked about that, she then proceeded to dive into other topics, and one in particular really struck a chord with me. I can’t remember exactly how we got on the topic, but she started talking about sewing. More specifically, she told me how when you sew something, you have to love it. Unfortunately, I can’t exactly relate, because I don’t know how to sew (or cross-stitch or anything else of the sort). But then she said the same thing should go for my writing – that everything I write – every story, every character, every setting, hell every word – I have to love it. Because if I don’t love it, what’s the point? Which in turn got me thinking about everything I don’t love about my current manuscript: the ending mostly, but other aspects as well, even the nit-picky things that shouldn’t bother me but still do.

But oddly enough, I started realizing after I talked to her that one of the reasons I constantly insult my manuscript to myself while editing is because I do love it. And I really do – so very much.

It isn’t perfect by any means. And like I said, it needs work. And honestly, no matter how long I spend editing it, I know I won’t ever be 100% satisfied with it. But that doesn’t change the love I have for it and the potential I truly believe it has.

Before I started this entry, I googled the definition of the word “sow.” The first that came up was, “to plant seed by scattering it on or in the earth.” Replace the word “seed” with “stories,” and you have one of my biggest goals.

The take-away from my conversation with my grandmother was to love what I “sow” – every single part of it, even the shoddy ending, because I can fix it. I know I can.

And so can you. So love what you sow – or sew or write or whatever else it is you do with your time. Because life is way too short not to.

