It’s true. I am, without a doubt, 100% addicted to young adult fiction. I read it. I write it. And chances are, at any given point of the day if I’m not playing with Arya, I’m probably thinking about it. To my knowledge, there isn’t a cure for this ailment. And honestly, even if there was one, I wouldn’t take it. I’m proud to be this obsessed with YA.

Which is why when others insult it, I get offended. I’ve heard or read a few different times over the past couple years someone describe their experiences reading what they deem to be a “good” YA book. They tell you what they liked about it, which are usually your typical compliments, but then they hit you with the standard: “I mean, it was pretty good. You know, for YA.”

No, random person. I don’t know what you mean.

I’m not trying to get on my high horse and declare young adult fiction to be the very best genre out there (although that’s my humble opinion). I’m simply trying to state my case that YA fiction can be really damn good writing – great even – period. So what if it’s geared towards teenagers. That doesn’t mean that adults shouldn’t appreciate good YA for any other reason than it’s good writing. That last sentence – “you know, for YA” – isn’t the least bit necessary.

Sure, there’s some YA out there that isn’t good. But can you really say ALL adult fiction is? (Note: I’m well aware there’s TONS of impressive, well-written, can’t-put-it-down-even-to-go-pee adult fiction out there. On occasion, I will read it, too.)

The point I’m trying to make is that children’s literature is just as important as any other kind. And it should get the same level of respect.

Okay, end of rant. 😉

Oh, but one more thing before I go: children’s books are NOT any easier to write. If they were, we’d ALL be authors by now. Think about it…

