Ahh, spring. Sunny weather. Maxi dresses. Flowers blooming. Pollen covering every single surface. Allergies never-ending. I hate to complain, since I was more than ready for winter to end and warm weather to arrive, but wouldn’t it be awesome if that didn’t include constantly sneezing, a runny nose, and sporadic headaches? But when it comes to the changing seasons, just like with most things in life, you’ve gotta take the good with the bad! That’s what I keep telling myself anyway.

As I’ve blogged about before, I’m currently working on a sequel manuscript, which is coming along nicely for the most part. But unfortunately, when I find time to brain storm for this story, a couple new ideas for stories have recently bloomed in my mind and, just like my seasonal allergies, refuse to go away. When it comes to writing, I can’t multi-task. I have to focus all my creative energy on one piece at a time, or else I’d go crazy. I know this about myself. But yet, I can’t help but let my mind wander around with these new ideas, jotting down random snippets of scenes that play in my mind. On one hand, it’s exciting and honestly refreshing to think about new story ideas. But on the other, it’s frustrating, because I know if I don’t work on this sequel and set it aside, it’ll be a thousand times harder to revisit it later.

For now, I’m taking my daily allergy medicine, trying to hold my sniffles at bay as much as possible. And as much as I’d like to dive in to a fresh story — because, let’s face it, the most exciting part of working on a WIP (at least for me) is the very beginning — I’m trying to keep those ideas at bay, too. And I don’t mean actually writing the first chapters, because my writing OCD forces me to go back and edit WAYYYY too much. I’m talking about the pre-writing stage, when my brain tries (and usually succeeds) in convincing me that this new idea is the BEST idea I’ve EVER had. (Yeah, I know, it’s a tad on the cocky side.) As soon as I write, though, my opinion shifts dramatically. But that before stage when the story is primarily only in my head is amazing. For me, it’s the equivalent of running through a field of freshly bloomed flowers, in a long and extremely comfortable maxi dress, WITHOUT an allergy attack. Sounds pretty fantastic, huh?

*reads back through blog entry* Wow. I basically just laid out the argument side to start a new story, didn’t I? Err, just pretend I did the opposite, okay? Great, thanks.

